Toad of Toad Hall

Adapted by A. A. Milne
from THE WIND IN THE WILLOWS by Kenneth Grahame

Music by H. Frasier-Simson

December 7-8, 1962
The State College Junior High School Auditorium

Production Staff

DirectorFlorence Rowlands
Music DirectorSuzanne Hess
Dance DirectorGrace Holderman
Stage ManagerCarolyn Morse
PianistMarilyn Whitmore
Publicity DirectorMary Neilly
Set and Costume DesignJack Place
Set ConstructionJack Brilhart
Virge Neilly
Tom Lyne
Ollie Place
Evie Jacobs
Shirley Curley
Ruth Yeaton
Stage CrewDave Riemer
Paul Richer
Fred Hurvitz
Linda Ferrand
Tom Houlihan
CostumesIrene Ferrand
Anne Ishler
Jan Davis
Willette Dewsnap
Linda McDonald
Lillian Brillhart
Cozette Griffin
Dorothy Jochen
Shirley Gilligan
Linda Ferrand
Rima Zimmerman
Cynthia Campbell
Deborah Bauer
Barbara McDermott
Mary Wilson
MakeupMolly Basler
Arlene Lucas
Carolyn Miller
Marti Scholw
Janet Wheeler
Mary Riley
Lucy Walker
Cynthia Zeldin
Robert Reifsneider
PropertiesCynthia Campbell
Luise Thomas
Gerald Campbell
Mary Chamberlain
Jan Davis
Nancy McCord
Bob McCord
Pat Wilson
Lights and SoundRon Jochen
Andy Bordwell
Ira Masemore
Richard Rowlands
Laura Damerst
PublicityRuth Yeaton
Bill Dunkel
Merle Campbell
ProgramMary Ellen Savage
Box OfficeSandra Ross
Ollie Place
Lisa Renner
Bill Dunkel
Claire Weisbrod
UshersKenna Holderman
Vinnie Holderman
Mrs. Adrian Lanser
Mrs. Orvel Schmidt
Freya Schmidt
Judy Russell
Cathy Nutt
Nan Nutt
Lillian Dickson-Major

About the Show

Toad of Toad Hall is a 1929 children’s play by A.A. Milne (best known as the writer of the Winnie-the-Pooh stories) with music by Harold Fraser-Simson. Although Toad of Toad Hall is not usually considered a musical it features six songs. The play is a stage adaptation of the children’s novel The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame. It was formerly an annual favorite for performance at theaters throughout Britain during the Christmas and New Year period, however other more recent stage versions of The Wind in the Willows have now overtaken it in popularity.

The Cast

PrologueScotia MacRae
MolePeter Scholten
Water RatRaul Zimmerman
Mr. BadgerJimmie Avey
ToadDick Porter
Alfred (front legs)Patty Kneebone
Alfred (back legs)Sally Brewer
Barge HorseSally Brewer
Patty Kneebone
Chief FerrettLaura Davids
Chief WeaselLaurie Friedman
Chief StoatSharon Hosler
First Field MouseRicky Avey
Second Field MouseJim Reiber
PolicemanMike Gilligan
GaolerLaura Davids
UsherRobert Green
JudgeBob Vandermeer
TurkeyMolly Knapp
JuryLucy Knapp
John Patterson
Jim Reiber
Kris Starkey
Jimmie Avey
PhoebePat Fagin
WasherwomanMartha Lindsay
Mama RabbitKris Starkey
Lucy RabbitLucy Knapp
Harold RabbitJohn Patterson
Barge-WomanCathey Shuey
Ferrets and WeaselsKris Starkey
Pam Duren
Kathy Fletcher
Sandy Berardis
Daphne Groh
Sharon Hosler
Darlene Kenney
Kathy Klein
Kathy Ridge
Bonnie Farmer
Nancy Heller
Debbie Thomson
Phoebe Gill
Sue Goodwin
Jean Fleming
Peggy Rathfelder
Mice and StoatsScott Hess
Amy Callahan
Molly Knapp
Janet Byers
Diane Byers
Barbara Haddle
Janice Haddle
Paula McDermott
Valerie Ferrand
Ricky Avey
Jim Reiber
John Patterson